11 22 oct '22

Port of Ghent Public Choice Award: Short Term 12 (Destin Daniel Cretton)

22 Oct 2013

The jury has chosen its winners and now your votes have been counted as well. The winner of the Port of Ghent Public Choice Award goes to 'Short Term 12' by Destin Daniel Cretton.

What was the key to success? The fact that director Destin Daniel Cretton and his lead Brie Larson attended Film Fest Gent? Or maybe the well-considered choice to put American independent cinema in the spotlight? In any case, the audience was blown away by the indie gem 'Short Term 12' by Destin Daniel Cretton, giving it an average rating of 4.73 out of 5.

'Short Term 12' is the story of Grace (Brie Larsen), who cares for teenagers at a foster care facility, as seen through her eyes. Grace is a wonderful caregiver, passionate but also tough when necessary. She’s in a long-term relationship with her colleague Mason (John Gallagher Jr.), but her own difficult past – and the surprising future that suddenly knocks at her door – lead to great confusion. Even more so when a troubled young girl, whom Grace has a strong affinity for, turns up at the care facility. Screenwriter and director Destin Daniel Cretton based the story on his own experiences as a caregiver, and skillfully steers away from the clichés of films set in institutions. The film was a deserved winner at the SXSW Festival in Texas. This is American independent cinema as we love to see it: a short, character-driven story with a strong cast and particular attention to colour, camera work and sound.

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?

This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.