Ffb596d7 cfdc 4b84 9171 6a2fe728447b

Aki Kaurismäki

Tulitikkutehtaan Tyttö (I Hired a Contract Killer)

Director Aki Kaurismäki Cast Kati Outinen, Elina Salo, Esko Nikkai
Edition 1990
69' - 1989 - Drama - Dialogue: Finnish
Kaurismäki shows that nothing surpasses simplicity, morally as well as stylistically. He has done away with every unnecessary element, including every bit of non-essential dialogue. His narrative ellipses are so clear that he can dispense with every linking device in developing his story and does not even need to show its outcome. Iris is a factory worker who is exploited by the whole world. Kaurismäki does not refer to her employer but to those who are closer; her mother and her stepfather, who pocket her salary, and later the man who Iris, deluded by dime navels, takes to be her Prince Charming...

Image gallery

5e1c4c56 2ce5 471c 9b9d b70eaaaf65e4
Ffb596d7 cfdc 4b84 9171 6a2fe728447b



Aki Kaurismäki


Kati Outinen, Elina Salo, Esko Nikkai


Aki Kaurismäki

Director of Photography

Timo Salminen


Aki Kaurismäki


Aki Kaurismäki

Non original music

Reijo Taipale, Mauri Sumén, Pjotr Iljitsj Tsjaikovski

More info



Countries of production





Aki Kaurismäki
The Saimaa Gesture (1981), Jackpot 2 (short, 1982), The Worthless (1982), Crime and Punishment (1983), The Clan - Tale of the Frogs (1984), Viimeiset rotannahat (1985), Calamari Union (1985), Rocky VI (short, 1986), Shadows in Paradise (1986), Hamlet Goes Business (1987), Ariel (1988), Leningrad Cowboys Go America (1989), The Match Factory Girl (1990), I Hired a Contract Killer (1990), The Bohemian Life (1992), Take Care of Your Scarf, Tatiana (1994), Total Balalaika Show (1994), Leningrad Cowboys Meet Moses (1994), Iron Horsemen (1994), Drifting Clouds (1996), Employment Agent (short, 1996), Juha (1999), Vera, nadezhda, krov' (2000), The Man Without a Past (2002), Ten Minutes Older: The Trumpet (2002), Visions of Europe (2004), Lights in the Dusk (2006), To Each His Own Cinema (2007), The Foundry (short, 2007), Le Havre (2011), 60 Seconds of Solitude in Year Zero (2011), Centro Histórico (2012), O Tasqueiro (short, 2012), Juice Leskinen & Grand Slam: Bluesia Pieksämäen asemalla (short, 2013), The Other Side of Hope (2017), Fallen Leaves (2023)