11 22 oct '22
65614ba9 3c14 49b9 a10d c78582214f0f

Theo Angelopoulos

Eternity and a Day (Mia aioniotita kai mia mera)

Classics 137' - 1998 - Drama - Dialogue: Italian, English, Greek - Format: DCP
Director: Theo Angelopoulos Composer: Eleni Karaindrou With: Bruno Ganz, Isabelle Renauld, Fabrizio Bentivoglio
Fri 15 Oct
Studio Skoop 1
Subtitles: English
Sat 16 Oct
Subtitles: English
Sun 17 Oct
Studio Skoop 1
Subtitles: English
Eternity And A Day traces the final days of Alexandre (Bruno Ganz), a celebrated Greek writer as he prepares to leave his seaside home forever. While packing, he finds a letter from his long-dead wife, Anna (Isabelle Renauld), who wrote about an enchanted summer day they spent thirty years ago. From that point, Alexandre embarks on a mystical journey through his past and present. Realizing that after spending his entire life chasing after the words of poems and novels, Alexandre wants one final chance to capture the lost precious moments of true happiness, even if only for one day.
Eternity and a Day features all Angelopoulos’ stylistic trademarks: mesmerising long takes that suspend the viewer’s sense of time, a fully integrated use of the spoken word and Eleni Karaindrou’s elegant and allusive scoring, visual motifs that return with obsessive insistence.” - Sight & Sound

Image gallery

65614ba9 3c14 49b9 a10d c78582214f0f

With support of

Greek film centre logo 1



Theo Angelopoulos


Eleni Karaindrou


Bruno Ganz, Isabelle Renauld, Fabrizio Bentivoglio


Theo Angelopoulos, Tonino Guerra, Petros Markaris, Giorgio Silvagni

Director of Photography

Giorgos Arvanitis, Andreas Sinanos


Yannis Tsitsopoulos


Theo Angelopoulos, Eric Heumann, Amedeo Pagani, Giorgio Silvagni

Production studios

Paradis Films, Intermédias, La Sept Cinéma

More information


Italian, English, Greek



Countries of production

Italy, Greece, Germany, France




Theo Angelopoulos
Forminx Story (1965), Broadcast (short, 1968), Anaparastasi (1970), Days of '36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1975), The Hunters (1977), Alexander the Great (1980), Athens, Return to the Acropolis (1983), Voyage to Cythera (1984), The Beekeeper (1986), Landscape in the Mist (1988), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), Ulysses' Gaze (1995), Eternity and a Day (1998), Trilogy I: The Weeping Meadow (2004), Trilogy II: The Dust of Time (2008), Mundo Invisível (segment, 2012)

Technical Specs


This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.