09 20 Oct '24
F908833a 6180 4ac8 805c 6fb92da83c4b

Atom Egoyan

The Sweet Hereafter

Edition 1997
110' - 1997 - Drama - Dialogue: English
Director: Atom Egoyan Composer: Mychael Danna With: Ian Holm, Sarah Polley, Bruce Greenwood, Tom McCamus, Arsinée Khanjian, Gabriel Rose
A crowded school bus careens wildly off a slippery winter road and plunges through the ice of a frozen lake. Fourteen children die. A small town is left devastated. Just days after this tragic accident, big-city lawyer Mitchel Stephens arrives to represent the grieving community in a class action suit. Stevens’ determination to help the town heal parallels his struggle to cope with the loss of his own daughter to drugs. Who is to blame for the accident? Mitchell decides the school board, the bus manufacturer and the town officials are the ones to be held responsible, no the bus driver. Teenager Sarah Polley has survived the accident and earlier memories slowly surface. Memories that could destroy Mitchell’s case.

Image gallery

87a2f51e 42ff 4973 a10f 3349a42a4e29
3c00aee9 3bd4 47db a7a7 7c3c70782f90
F908833a 6180 4ac8 805c 6fb92da83c4b
6034f3e0 cc06 4cb3 87f6 4419da97a9e0



Atom Egoyan


Mychael Danna


Ian Holm, Sarah Polley, Bruce Greenwood, Tom McCamus, Arsinée Khanjian, Gabriel Rose


Atom Egoyan

Director of Photography

Paul Sarossy


Susan Shipton


Atom Egoyan, Camelia Frieberg

More information



Countries of production


Screenplay based on

"The Sweet Hereafter" (Russell Banks)




Atom Egoyan
Lust of a Eunuch (short, 1977), Howard in Particular (short, 1979), After Grad with Dad (short, 1980), Next of Kin (1984), Men: A Passion Playground (short, 1985), Family Viewing (1987), Speaking Parts (1989), The Adjuster (1991), Montréal vu par... (1991), Peep Show (short, 1992), Open House (short, 1992), Calendar (1993), Exotica (1994), A Portrait of Arshile (short, 1995), The Sweet Hereafter (1997), Bach Cello Suit #4: Sarabande (1997), Felicia's Journey (1999), The Line (short, 2000), Diaspora (short, 2001), Close (short, 2001), Ararat (2002), Where the Truth Lies (2005), Citadel (2006), To Each His Own Cinema (2007), Adoration (2008), Chloe (2009), Invisible World (2012), Venice 70: Future Reloaded (2013), Devil's Knot (2013), The Captive (2014), Remember (2015), Guest of Honour (2019), Bluebeard's Castle (2022), Seven Veils (2023)

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?