2bc6a215 7bc1 4f6f 8d8a 522e3a0481fe

Aki Kaurismäki

The Man Without a Past (Mies vailla menneisuyyttä)

Director Aki Kaurismäki Composer Marko Haavisto & Poutahaukat Cast Markku Peltola, Kati Outinen, Annikki Tähti, Juhani Niemelä
97' - 2002 - Drama, Comedy, Romance - Dialogue: Finnish
M, the hero, arrives in Helsinki and almost immediately gets mugged by three thugs. He is taken to hospital, but having lost his memory he is unable to remember who he is. A friendly couple in a community of down-and-outs living in old freight containers takes him in. M does a deal with the freight yard’s corrupt security guard Antilla for a container complete with a working jukebox stocked with R&B. He doggedly builds himself a new life, together with Salvation Army officer Irma. This new life takes a twist when he decides to turn the Army band into a passable rock-and-tango combo. (Screen International)

Image gallery

3c955386 f794 42dd be27 d684a32ac260
Ba928801 8709 41b7 88be ef1ac9c61862
748d9cef 5bde 4362 ac4f 5c86f0082fba
2bc6a215 7bc1 4f6f 8d8a 522e3a0481fe



Aki Kaurismäki


Marko Haavisto & Poutahaukat


Markku Peltola, Kati Outinen, Annikki Tähti, Juhani Niemelä


Aki Kaurismäki

Director of Photography

Timo Salminen


Timo Linnasalo


Aki Kaurismäki

More info



Countries of production

Finland, Germany, France




Aki Kaurismäki
The Saimaa Gesture (1981), Jackpot 2 (short, 1982), The Worthless (1982), Crime and Punishment (1983), The Clan - Tale of the Frogs (1984), Viimeiset rotannahat (1985), Calamari Union (1985), Rocky VI (short, 1986), Shadows in Paradise (1986), Hamlet Goes Business (1987), Ariel (1988), Leningrad Cowboys Go America (1989), The Match Factory Girl (1990), I Hired a Contract Killer (1990), The Bohemian Life (1992), Take Care of Your Scarf, Tatiana (1994), Total Balalaika Show (1994), Leningrad Cowboys Meet Moses (1994), Iron Horsemen (1994), Drifting Clouds (1996), Employment Agent (short, 1996), Juha (1999), Vera, nadezhda, krov' (2000), The Man Without a Past (2002), Ten Minutes Older: The Trumpet (2002), Visions of Europe (2004), Lights in the Dusk (2006), To Each His Own Cinema (2007), The Foundry (short, 2007), Le Havre (2011), 60 Seconds of Solitude in Year Zero (2011), Centro Histórico (2012), O Tasqueiro (short, 2012), Juice Leskinen & Grand Slam: Bluesia Pieksämäen asemalla (short, 2013), The Other Side of Hope (2017), Fallen Leaves (2023)