09 20 Oct '24
Db721cb8 9214 4e55 a99b dea092def08e

Theo Angelopoulos

The Dust of Time (Trilogia II: I skoni tou hronou)

Edition 2021
125' - 2008 - Drama - Dialogue: German, Russian, English, Greek
Director: Theo Angelopoulos Composer: Eleni Karaindrou With: Willem Dafoe, Bruno Ganz, Michel Piccoli, Irène Jacob
A, an American film director of Greek ancestry, is making a film that tells his story and the story of his parents. It is a tale that unfolds in Italy, Germany, Russia, Kazakhstan, Canada and the U.S.A. The main character is Eleni, who is claimed and claims the absoluteness of love. At the same time the film is a long journey into the vast history and the events of the last fifty years that left their mark on the 20th century. The characters in the film move as though in a dream. The dust of time confuses memories. A searches for them and experiences them in the present. (theoangelopoulos.gr)
“Angelopoulos uses some spectacular tracking shots in order to recount the traumas of the second part of the 20th century, ending with a glimmer of hope for the 21st. The film is a true fin-de-siècle drama, a cry of pain derived from the wounds the previous century inflicted.” - The Guardian

With support of

Greek film centre logo 1

Image gallery

Db721cb8 9214 4e55 a99b dea092def08e



Theo Angelopoulos


Eleni Karaindrou


Willem Dafoe, Bruno Ganz, Michel Piccoli, Irène Jacob


Tonino Guerra

Director of Photography

Andreas Sinanos


Giorgos Helidonidis, Yannis Tsitsopoulos


Tonino Guerra, Foivi Oikonomopoulou

Production studios

Theo Angelopoulos Films

More information


German, Russian, English, Greek

Countries of production

Russia, Italy, Greece, Germany, France




Theo Angelopoulos
Forminx Story (1965), Broadcast (short, 1968), Anaparastasi (1970), Days of '36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1975), The Hunters (1977), Alexander the Great (1980), Athens, Return to the Acropolis (1983), Voyage to Cythera (1984), The Beekeeper (1986), Landscape in the Mist (1988), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), Ulysses' Gaze (1995), Eternity and a Day (1998), Trilogy I: The Weeping Meadow (2004), Trilogy II: The Dust of Time (2008), Mundo Invisível (segment, 2012)

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?