08 19 Oct '24
A77da21e 3a0f 4b0b a49b 725df8768211

Theo Angelopoulos

O Thiassos (The Travelling Players)

230' - 1975 - Drama - Dialogue: German, English, Greek
Director: Theo Angelopoulos Composer: Loukianos Kilaidonis With: Eva Kotamanidou, Petros Markaris, Maria Vassiliou, Statos Pachis, Aliki Georgouli
In Egion in 1952, on the eve of the election of Papagos, the field marshal who won the Civil War against Left­wing farces, a troupe of traveling players recall Greek political history and their own personal histories since they last visited the place in 1939. Angelopoulos emerged on the international scene after the seven years of military dictatorship in Greece with one of the most ambitious Greek films to date, partly filmed during the last months of the colonels' regime. (Foreign Film Guide)

Image gallery

5703eba6 1349 4328 9074 937f87001114
A77da21e 3a0f 4b0b a49b 725df8768211



Theo Angelopoulos


Loukianos Kilaidonis


Eva Kotamanidou, Petros Markaris, Maria Vassiliou, Statos Pachis, Aliki Georgouli


Theo Angelopoulos

Director of Photography

Giorgos Arvanitis


Takis Davlopoulos


Giorgos Papalios

More information


German, English, Greek

Countries of production





Theo Angelopoulos
Forminx Story (1965), Broadcast (short, 1968), Anaparastasi (1970), Days of '36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1975), The Hunters (1977), Alexander the Great (1980), Athens, Return to the Acropolis (1983), Voyage to Cythera (1984), The Beekeeper (1986), Landscape in the Mist (1988), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), Ulysses' Gaze (1995), Eternity and a Day (1998), Trilogy I: The Weeping Meadow (2004), Trilogy II: The Dust of Time (2008), Mundo Invisível (segment, 2012)

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?