Fa1aaaf0 761b 4b85 a1e1 a5a0a933218a

Aki Kaurismäki

Leningrad Cowboys Go America

Director Aki Kaurismäki Composer Mauri Sumén Cast Sakke Järvenpää, Nicky Tesco, Matti Pellonpää, Kari Väänänen
Edition 1990
79' - 1989 - Comedy - Dialogue: Finnish, English
Somewhere In the tundra, in no man's land, lives the worst rock 'n roll band in the world, an outfit with no audience and absolutely no commercial potential. And so they decide to bury their national identity and go to the United States, where people will eat any kind of shit. This film is the story of their journey over the ocean and through the Continent, a story of seamy bars and honest folk in the backyards of the Nation of Hamburgers. Ugly actors, good feelings, yeah!

Image gallery

C4b68ab8 8e35 4196 befa 020f76b6568c
Fa1aaaf0 761b 4b85 a1e1 a5a0a933218a



Aki Kaurismäki


Mauri Sumén


Sakke Järvenpää, Nicky Tesco, Matti Pellonpää, Kari Väänänen


Aki Kaurismäki, Sakke Järvenpää, Mato Valtonen

Director of Photography

Timo Salminen


Raija Talvio


Klas Oloffson, Katinka Faragó

More info


Finnish, English

Countries of production

Finland, Sweden




Aki Kaurismäki
The Saimaa Gesture (1981), Jackpot 2 (short, 1982), The Worthless (1982), Crime and Punishment (1983), The Clan - Tale of the Frogs (1984), Viimeiset rotannahat (1985), Calamari Union (1985), Rocky VI (short, 1986), Shadows in Paradise (1986), Hamlet Goes Business (1987), Ariel (1988), Leningrad Cowboys Go America (1989), The Match Factory Girl (1990), I Hired a Contract Killer (1990), The Bohemian Life (1992), Take Care of Your Scarf, Tatiana (1994), Total Balalaika Show (1994), Leningrad Cowboys Meet Moses (1994), Iron Horsemen (1994), Drifting Clouds (1996), Employment Agent (short, 1996), Juha (1999), Vera, nadezhda, krov' (2000), The Man Without a Past (2002), Ten Minutes Older: The Trumpet (2002), Visions of Europe (2004), Lights in the Dusk (2006), To Each His Own Cinema (2007), The Foundry (short, 2007), Le Havre (2011), 60 Seconds of Solitude in Year Zero (2011), Centro Histórico (2012), O Tasqueiro (short, 2012), Juice Leskinen & Grand Slam: Bluesia Pieksämäen asemalla (short, 2013), The Other Side of Hope (2017), Fallen Leaves (2023)