12 23 oct '21

International Short Film Competition

The Best International Short Film Award was first presented in 2019 and is selected by an international jury of industry professionals. Fiction, animation, documentary and anything that can be deemed an 'experiment' - all are eligible for the award which comes with a €5,000 cash prize.

20 K2482 cover

2020 - Best International Short Film Award
Perpetual Night by Pedro Peralta (Portugal)

International Short Film Jury 2020
Dorian Jespers
Eliza Petkova

19 K2317 cover

2019 - Best International Short Film Award
Community Gardens by Vytautas Katkus (Lithuania)

International Short Film Jury 2019
Amira Daoudi
Jayro Bustamante
Neil Young

Best European Short Film Award

Winner 2018 - Dark Chamber by Ottó Bánovits (Hungary, Sweden)

Winner 2017 - My Second Eye by Ahmad Saleh (Germany)

Winner 2016 - Timecode by Giménez Peña Juanjo (Spain)

Winner 2015 - Le Mur by Samuel Lampaert (Belgium)

Winner 2014 - Washingtonia by Konstantina Kotzamani (Greece)

Winner 2013 - Whale Valley by Gudmundur Arnar Gudmundsson (Denmark, Iceland)

Winner 2012 - As Ondas (The Waves) by Miguel Fonseca (Portugal)

Winner 2011 - Demain Ça Sera Bien by Pauline Gay (France)

Winner 2010 - Berik by Daniel Joseph Borgman (Denmark, Sweden)

Winner 2009 - Amor by Thomas Wangsmo (Norway) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2008 - Zwemles by Danny De Vent (Belgium) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2007 - Raak by Hanro Smitsman (Netherlands) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2006 - Kwiz by Renaud Callebaut (Belgium) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2005 - Delivery by Till Nowak (Germany) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2004 - Little Terrorist by Ashvin Kumar (UK) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2003 - J'attendrai le suivant by Philippe Oreindy (France) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2002 - La chanson-chanson by Xavier Diskeuve (Belgium) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2001 - Muno by Bouli Lanners (Belgium) - (Prix UIP)

Winner 2000 - The Heist by Dennis Petersen & Frederik M. Nørgaard (Denmark) - (Prix UIP)

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?

This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.