Badalamenti Best Composer at World Soundtrack Awards 2005

15 Oct 2005
Angelo Badalamenti, for his score for Un Long Dimanche de Fianciailles is the winner of the 'Soundtrack Composer of the Year' Award. These prestigious film music prizes were distributed this Saturday October 15, for the fifth time on a row during the Flanders International Film Festival Ghent. The music of War of the Worlds by John Williams received the Prize for Best Original Soundtrack of the Year and Old Habbits Die Hard by Dave Stewart & Mick Jagger from Alfie was recognized for the Award for 'Best Original Song Written for Film'.
The 'Public Choice Award' went to Vangelis for the soundtrack of Alexander and Michael Giacchino was elected as 'The Discovery of the Year 2005' for the music of The Incredibles. Sir Tim Rice gave a 'Lifetime Achievement Award' to Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, while the prize for 'Best Young Belgian Composer' was attributed to Hannes De Maeyer, for the score he wrote for the silent short film Medor au Téléphone. The festive ceremony was followed by a filmmusic concert where the Oscar winner Rachel Portman (Emma) was on stage with Mike Stoller, part of the legendary duo Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, who made history as songwriter and composer for Elvis Presley. The Belgian Raymond van het Groenewoud and Gustavo Santaolalla, last year's WSA Discovery for 21 Grams ignited these musical fireworks. This unique filmmusic concert was accompanied on an outstanding way by the Vlaams Radio Orkest under the direction of Dirk Brossé. The nominees were : Soundtrack Composer of the Year Angelo Badalamenti Un long Dimanche de Fiançailles Thomas Newman Lemony Snicket's a series of unfortunate events John Powell The Bourne Supremacy Howard Shore The Aviator John Williams War of the Worlds Best Original Soundtrack of the Year The Aviator Howard Shore Batmans begins James Newton Howard & Hans Zimmer Bourne Supremacy John Powell Mar Adentro Alejandro Amenábar War of the Worlds John Williams Best Original Song Written for Film Al Otro Lado del Rio The Motorcycle Diaries Written and performed by Jorge Drexler Believe The Polar Express Music by Alan Silvestri - lyrics by Glen Ballard performed by Josh Groban Old Habits Die Hard Alfie Written by Dave Stewart and Mick Jagger performed by Mick Jagger Learn to be Lonely The Phantom of the Opera Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber - lyrics by Charles Hart performed by Minnie Driver Million Voices Hotel Rwanda Music and lyrics by Wyclef Jean and Jerry "Wonder" Duplessis - music by Andrea Guerra - performed by Wyclef Jean Discovery of the Year 2004 Ilan Eshkeri Layer Cake Michael Giacchino The Incredibles Andrés Goldstein/Daniel Tarrab Deuda Cyril Morin The Syrian Bride Benjamin Wallfish Dear Wendy The following composers were present : Angelo Badalamenti, Andrés Goldstein, Daniel Tarrab, Cyril Morin, David Arnold, Stephen Warbeck, Ilan Eshkeri, José Luis Castiñeira De Dios, Dirk Brossé, John Gray, Gustavo Santaolalla, Rachel Portman, Mike Stoller, Sir Tim Rice, George Keller, Raymond Van Het Groenewoud, Fonny Dewulf, Jasper Steverlinck, Frédéric Devreese, Hannes Demaeyer