And the nominees for the World Soundtrack Awards are...

18 Aug 2006
The World Soundtrack Academy releases the list of nominees for the three principal categories in the World Soundtrack Awards, the most pre-eminent international prizes for the recognition of film music: Soundtrack Composer of the Year, Best Original Soundtrack of the Year - Orchestral and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The names of the winners will be announced in Ghent on Saturday, October 14.
Every year in Ghent, the World Soundtrack Awards (WSA) are presented by the World Soundtrack Academy. The Academy, which was founded in 2001 by the Flanders International Film Festival - Ghent and a number of film music composers, now encompasses over 250 leading composers. The stated goal of the Academy is to promote music in film, and it is achieving this with ever greater success, as can be seen by the growing (international) interest and recognition being given to film music. The three principal categories are Soundtrack Composer of the Year, Best Original Soundtrack of the Year - Orchestral and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. In addition to this, at a later time, the Academy Board will also select the Discovery of the Year 2006. In addition to the Awards presented by the Academy, the public around the world can vote for their choice of the best soundtrack for 2006 (see The nominees for the category Soundtrack Composer of the Year are: o Danny Elfman - Charlie and the Chocolate Factory o Alberto Iglesias - The Constant Gardener o Dario Marianelli - Pride & Prejudice o James Newton Howard - King Kong o John Powell - Ice Age: The Meltdown The candidates for the category Best Original Soundtrack of the Year are: o Brokeback Mountain - Gustavo Santaolalla o King Kong - James Newton Howard o Munich - John Williams o Pride & Prejudice - Dario Marianelli o The Constant Gardener - Alberto Iglesias And the nominees for Best Original Song Written for Film are: o "A Love That Will Never Grow Old" (Brokeback Mountain) Music by Gustavo Santaolalla - lyrics by Bernie Taupin - performed by Emmylou Harris o "Can't Take It In" (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe) Music by Harry Gregson-Williams & Imogen Heap - lyrics by Imogen Heap - performed by Imogen Heap o "Magic Works" (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) Music and lyrics by Jarvis Cocker - performed by Jarvis Cocker, Jonny Greenwood, Philip Selway, Steve Mackey, Steve Claydon and Jason Buckle - string arrangement by Patrick Doyle o "Mdlwembe" (Tsotsi) Music by Kabelo 'Kaybee' Ikaneng - lyrics by Zola - performed by Zola o "Our Town" (Cars) Music and lyrics by Randy Newman - performed by James Taylor The sixth edition of the World Soundtrack Awards is once again promising to be the pre-eminent event for film music lovers. The international elite of film music composers will be in Ghent that evening to attend the presentation of the World Soundtrack Awards and the concert thereafter. Among other works, the music of Michael Giacchino, Peer Raben, John Powell and Piet Goddaer will be the main features of the evening. Tickets: