Alberto Iglesias Best Composer 2006

14 Oct 2006
Alberto Iglesias is the big winner of the World Soundtrack Awards 2006. He won both the Award of Soundtrack Composer of the Year and Best Original Soundtrack of the year with the music he wrote for The Constant Gardener. The prestigious film music awards were presented during the 33rd Flanders International Film Festival Ghent on Saturday October 14 for the sixth time running.
The 'Public Choice Award' went to Gustavo Santaolalla (Oscar Winner) for the soundtrack of Brokeback Mountain and Evanthia Reboutsika was elected as 'The Discovery of the Year 2006' for the music of My Father & My Son. The 'Lifetime Achievement Award' went to Peer Raben but as he was absent for health's reasons, the actress and singer Ingrid Caven received it. The song Our Town by Randy Newman (music & lyrics) & James Taylor (performer) from Cars won the Award for 'Best Original Song Written for Film'. The Award for 'Best Young Belgian Composer' was given to Alexis Koustoulidis, for his score for the silent short film Le Fauteuil Vivant which was granted € 2.500. The official ceremony was followed by a film music concert in which the Flemish Radio Orchestra, under the direction of Dirk Brossé, played the film music of John Powell (Ice Age: The Meltdown, Mr. & Mrs. Smith, Bourne Identity), Michael Giacchino (The Incredibles, Lost), Peer Raben (Berlin Alexanderplatz, Die Sehnsucht der Veronika Voss, 2046) and local talent Piet Goddaer (Crusade in Jeans). The evening of World Soundtrack Awards was organized in collaboration with Sabam, the Province of Eastern Flanders and the City Marketing Fund Ghent. The list of nominees and winners**: Soundtrack Composer of the Year Danny Elfman (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) Alberto Iglesias (The Constant Gardener)** Dario Marianelli (Pride and Prejudice) James Newton Howard (King Kong) John Powell (Ice Age: The Meltdown) Best Original Soundtrack of the Year - Orchestral Alberto Iglesias (The Constant Gardener)** Dario Marianelli (Pride and Prejudice) James Newton Howard (King Kong) Gustavo Santaolalla (Brokeback Mountain) John Williams (Munich) Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film "A Love That Will Never Grow Old" (Brokeback Mountain) Music by Gustavo Santaolalla - lyrics by Bernie Taupin - performed by Emmylou Harris "Can't Take It In" (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe) Music by Harry Gregson-Williams & Imogen Heap - lyrics by Imogen Heap - performed by Imogen Heap "Magic Works" (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) Music and lyrics by Jarvis Cocker - performed by Jarvis Cocker, Jonny Greenwood, Philip Selway, Steve Mackey, Steve Claydon and Jason Buckle - string arrangement by Patrick Doyle "Mdlwembe" (Tsotsi) Music by Kabelo 'Kaybee' Ikaneng - lyrics by Zola - performed by Zola "Our Town" (Cars)** Music and lyrics by Randy Newman - performed by James Taylor Discovery of the year Nick Cave and Warren Ellis(The Proposition) Nigel Clarke and Michael CsaniI-Wills (The Thief Lord) Olivier Florio(Les Brigades du tigre) Douglas Pipes(Monster House) Evanthia Reboutsika (My Father & my son)** Public Choice Award Gustavo Santaolalla (Brokeback Mountain) The following composers attended the World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony : Gustavo Santaolalla, Dario Marianelli, Evanthia Reboutsika, Olivier Florio, Douglas Pipes, Nigel Clarke & Michael Csanyi-Wills, Alberto Iglesias, John Powell, Emanuel Bauer and Florian Moser.