Die Fälscher wins the 34th edition of the Ghent International Film Festival

18 Oct 2007
Die Fälscher by Stefan Ruzowitzky wins the Grand Prize for Best Film at the 34th Ghent International Film Festival. The international jury, under the chairmanship of Kathleen Turner, announced the winners on Wednesday 17th at the Ghent city hall. After the ceremony Kathleen Turner received a Joseph Plateau Lifetime Achievement Award for her career.
The jury consisted of actress Kathleen Turner, director Bálint Kenyeres, producer Maria Köpf, actor Peter Van Den Begin, producer Stephen Woolley and composers Alex Heffes and Adam Nordén. They awarded four prizes: Best Film, Best Music, Best Director and Best Scenario. The Grand Prize for Best Film this year goes to Die Fälscher by Stefan Ruzowitzky. The Grand Prize for Best Film consists of a distribution premium of 20,000 €, intended to promote the release of the winning film in Flanders and Brussels (in at least five cinemas). The Georges Delerue Prize for Best Music is awarded to You The Living (Roy Andersson). The distribution premium in this case amounts to 10,000 €, intended to promote the release of the winning film in Flanders and Brussels. The Savages by Tamara Jenkins is awarded the SABAM Prize for Best Scenario. The film receives a distribution premium worth 10,000 €. Saverio Constanzo, director of In Memoria di me, is awarded the Robert Wise Award for Best Director. All winning films receive a media campaign worth 6.000 €. A special mention of the jury goes to the main actor and actress of The Band's Visit. Hanro Smitsman won the first prize in the Prix UIP Ghent 2007 short film competition with his short film Raak. Apart from 2,000 € in prize money, Smitsman was also nominated for the Prix UIP for Best European Short. He is in the running for an award worth 10,000 € in that competition.