09 20 Oct '24

'A Quiet Passion' by Terence Davies and Home' by Fien Troch win at the 43rd Film Fest Gent internatinal competition

News 21 Oct 2016
On Friday 21 October, the international jury of Film Fest Gent, led by jury president Jeremy Thomas, announced the winners of the different competitions. 'A Quiet Passion' by Terence Davies won the Grand Prix for Best Film. The Georges Delerue Award for Best Music went to Johnny Jewel for his music for 'Home' by Fien Troch. Jeremy Thomas received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his entire career. This year’s international jury consisted of producer and president Jeremy Thomas, director Tran Anh Hung, author Jonathan Coe and actresses Maaike Neuville, Lina El Arabi and India Hair.


- Grand Prix for Best Film: 'A Quiet Passion' by Terence Davies (2016, UK & Belgium)

This prize is worth €43,500 in total, which is split into a cash distribution grant of €20,000 as support of the film's release in Flanders and Brussels (in at least five movie theaters), and a media return of €23,500.

Motivation of the jury: "After a long and passionate discussion it was decided to recognize the film which some members of the jury considered the most daring and most rigorous of the twelve films in competition: 'A Quiet Passion' by Terence Davies."

- Georges Delerue Award for Best Music: Johnny Jewel for his music for 'Home' by Fien Troch (2016, Belgium)

This prize is worth €21,500 in total. It consists of a distribution grant worth €10,000 and a media return worth €11,500.

Motivation of the jury: "The music translates the inner world of the young characters, capturing all the energy and turbulence of their emotions."

- 'Glory' by Kristina Grozeva & Petar Valchanov received a special mention (2016, Bulgaria & Greece): "We would like to give a special mention to 'Glory' by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov, a film admired by all the jury for its humor and its political and moral honesty."


- Ghent nomination for the EFA qualifying round: 'Timecode' by Giménez Peña Juanjo (2016, Spain)
This prize nominates its winner for the Prize for Best European Short of the European Film Academy 2016-2017. The winner will be announced in December 2017.


- National Lottery Award for Best Belgian Student Short: 'Boi' by Anthony Nti (RITCS).
The winner receives the National Lottery Award for Best Belgian Student Short, worth €2,000. This film was chosen by a professional jury, with as members Stephan Streker, Samuel Lampaert, Karen Vázquez, Xavier Rombaut, Sachli Gholamalizad and Sanne Nuyens.

- ACE + The Fridge Public Choice Award for Best Belgian Short: 'Boi' by Anthony Nti (RITCS)
Last Sunday, the ACE + The Fridge Public Choice Award was announced, which consists of a grading session worth €6,500 at the audiovisual post production house ACE Image Factory for a next film project.


- Explore Award 2016: 'Grave' by Julia Ducournau(2016, France & Belgium)

The Explore Award was conferred on Thursday 20 October by the youth jury that gives out a publicity campaign for the film on various media outlets: Studio Brussel, Knack and De Morgen.

- 'Home' by Fien Troch received a special mention.

The winners of the Port of Ghent Public Choice Award and Canvas Audience Award will be announced on Monday 24 October.

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, our year-round activities, the films and the filmmakers?