16th World Soundtrack Awards announces first wave of nominees

17 Aug 2016
This first wave of World Soundtrack Award Nominees include multiple Academy Award® winners and nominees, a past Discovery of the Year winner, and the best of contemporary television music. The nominees announced include Academy Award®-winners Ennio Morricone, John Williams, and Sam Smith; Academy Award®-nominees Carter Burwell and Thomas Newman; and recent Discovery of the Year winner Daniel Pemberton. The inaugural Television Composer of the Year nominees include EMMY® winners Bear McCreary, Jeff Beal, and Sean Callery, and nominees Mac Quayle and Ramin Djawadi.

The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film, and now television music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. In fifteen years time, the membership of the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international film (music) professionals deciding on the nominees for the annual World Soundtrack Awards through several rounds of voting. Besides these first nominees, the Academy will also select five nominees for the Discovery of the Year 2016 by the middle of September. In partnership with the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA), the public can also nominate their favorite score by voting for the Public Choice Award on the website until 9 September 2016.


Film Composer of the Year:

Carter Burwell: ‘Anomalisa’, ‘Hail Caesar!’, ‘Legend’, ‘The Family Fang’, ‘The Finest Hours’, 'Carol'
Daniel Pemberton: ‘Mal de pierres’, ‘Steve Jobs’, ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’
Ennio Morricone: ‘En mai fais ce qu’il te plaît’, ‘La Corrispondenza’, ‘The Hateful Eight’
John Williams: ‘Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens’, ‘The BFG’
Thomas Newman: ‘Bridge of Spies’, ‘Finding Dory’, ‘Spectre’

Best TV Composer:

Jeff Beal: ‘House of Cards’
Sean Callery: ‘Bones’, ‘Elementary’, ‘Homeland’, ‘Jessica Jones’, ‘Minority Report
Ramin Djawadi: ‘Game of Thrones’, ‘Person of Interest’, ‘The Strain’, ‘Westworld’
Bear McCreary: ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’, ‘Black Sails’, ‘Damien’, ‘Da Vinci’s Demons’, ‘Outlander’, ‘The Walking Dead’
Mac Quayle: ‘American Crime Story’, ‘American Horrorhttp://www.filmfestival.be/en Story’, ‘Mr. Robot’

Best Original Song written directly for a film:

Better When I’m Dancin’ from ‘The Peanuts Movie’ Music & Lyrics by Meghan Trainor & Thaddeus Dixon Performed by Meghan Trainor

Hypnosis from ‘Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet’ Music & lyrics by Damien Rice Performed by Damien Rice

None of them Are You from ‘Anomalisa’ Music & lyrics by Carter Burwell & Charlie Kaufman Performed by Tom Noonan

True Love Avenue from: ‘Jenny’s Wedding’ Music & lyrics by Brian Byrne & Kasey Jones Performed by Kristina Train

Writing’s On The Wall from ‘Spectre’ Music & lyrics by Sam Smith & James Napier Performed by Sam Smith

As previously announced, The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Ryuichi Sakamoto, following the festival’s spotlight on Japanese cinema. A selection of his work will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic and the Flemish Radio Choir, conducted by Dirk Brossé. Following the Award Ceremony, a concert will celebrate the best scores for contemporary TV-serie on October 20th 2016.

16th World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony & Concert Wednesday 19 October 2016 at Capitole Ghent

Central attending guests include Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jeff Beal, Jeff Russo, Sean Callery, John Lunn, Alex Heffes, Daniel Pemberton and many more! Tickets available at:

Follow the World Soundtrack Awards playlist on Spotify! Like, share & tag away with #WSAwards #FFGent