World soundtrack awards
The Lunchbox
Archived: The Lunchbox (2013)

director: Ritesh Batra

composer: Max Richter
With: Irrfan Khan (Saajan Fernandez), Nimrat Kaur (Ila), Nawazuddin Siddiqui, Denzil Smith (Mr. Shroff), Bharati Achrekar, Nakul Vaid, a.o.

duration: 104 minutes
Drama, Family

Gala Premières and special events

Middle class housewife Ila is trying once again to add some spice to her marriage, this time through her cooking. She desperately hopes that this new recipe will finally arouse some kind of reaction from her neglectful husband.


director: Ritesh Batra
composer: Max Richter
producer: Anurag Kashyap
screenplay: Ritesh Batra
Editor: John F. Lyons
Cinematography: Michael Simmonds
sound: Markus Krohn

production company: DAR Motion Pictures

More info

subtitles: Dutch/Fr subt.
Country: India - France - Germany - United States of America
year: 2013

Official site


RITESH BATRA: The Morning Ritual (2008, short), Gareeb Nawaz's Taxi (2010, short), Café Regular, Cairo (2012, short), The Lunchbox (2013)

Technical Specs

format: DCP
Online communication by Wisefools