12 23 oct '21
Db721cb8 9214 4e55 a99b dea092def08e

Theo Angelopoulos

The Dust of Time (Trilogia II: I skoni tou hronou)

Classics 125' - 2008 - Drama - Dialogue: German, Russian, English, Greek - Format: DCP
Director: Theo Angelopoulos Composer: Eleni Karaindrou With: Michel Piccoli, Bruno Ganz, Irène Jacob, Willem Dafoe
Thu 14 Oct
Studio Skoop 2
Subtitles: English
Tue 19 Oct
Studio Skoop 1
Subtitles: English
“Angelopoulos uses some spectacular tracking shots in order to recount the traumas of the second part of the 20th century, ending with a glimmer of hope for the 21st. The film is a true fin-de-siècle drama, a cry of pain derived from the wounds the previous century inflicted.” - The Guardian

A, an American film director of Greek ancestry, is making a film that tells his story and the story of his parents. It is a tale that unfolds in Italy, Germany, Russia, Kazakhstan, Canada and the U.S.A. The main character is Eleni, who is claimed and claims the absoluteness of love. At the same time the film is a long journey into the vast history and the events of the last fifty years that left their mark on the 20th century. The characters in the film move as though in a dream. The dust of time confuses memories. A searches for them and experiences them in the present. (theoangelopoulos.gr)

Image gallery

Db721cb8 9214 4e55 a99b dea092def08e

With support of

Greek film centre logo 1



Theo Angelopoulos


Eleni Karaindrou


Michel Piccoli, Bruno Ganz, Irène Jacob, Willem Dafoe


Tonino Guerra

Director of Photography

Andreas Sinanos


Yannis Tsitsopoulos, Giorgos Helidonidis


Foivi Oikonomopoulou, Tonino Guerra

Production studios

Theo Angelopoulos Films

More information


German, Russian, English, Greek



Countries of production

Russia, Italy, Greece, Germany, France




Theo Angelopoulos
Forminx Story (1965), Broadcast (short, 1968), Anaparastasi (1970), Days of '36 (1972), The Travelling Players (1975), The Hunters (1977), Alexander the Great (1980), Athens, Return to the Acropolis (1983), Voyage to Cythera (1984), The Beekeeper (1986), Landscape in the Mist (1988), The Suspended Step of the Stork (1991), Ulysses' Gaze (1995), Eternity and a Day (1998), Trilogy I: The Weeping Meadow (2004), Trilogy II: The Dust of Time (2008), Mundo Invisível (segment, 2012)

Technical Specs


This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.